But, that doesn’t mean I haven’t been sewing.  In fact, since I last posted I have completely finished 3 quilts.  Photos of those, as well as some works in progress, below.

The first finish – Strawberry Fields:

strawberryfieldsFO

pattern from the book Material Obsession.  Given to my sister.

A scrap quilt, started months ago that finished at around the size of a small twin:

 

Scrap Quilt

 

close up of a block:
Scrap Quilt Block

 

My third finish:

 

Big Block Quilt

Because I am so imaginitive, I call this one “The Big Block Quilt.”  I was tired of working with tedious, tiny pieces in my other projects and wanted to make something in one day from start to finish.  My desire for instant gratification resulted in this.  I used 10 inch blocks (unfinished) and 4 inch sashing (unfinished).  One of my first free motion tries at quilting and I ended up with something that sort of looks like stippling.  This finished at around the size of a large lap quilt.

I don’t have a picture of the completed top for this Half  Square Triangle Quilt since I gave it to my parents for Christmas.  The top finished at around 90″x90″ with no borders.

Half Square Triangle Top

 

I’ve had the kit for this quilt since this summer.  I finally got around to putting the top together.  This is a small quilt and will probably be a wall hanging:

 

Canning Jar Quilt Top

This top went together quickly and was a lot of fun, since I really like to can.  

And last, but not least, a new project:

 

Liberty Fields Blocks

Liberty Fields Quilt Block

I’ve got the 30+ star blocks finished for the quilt, Liberty Fields from the book Material Obsession.  Hopefully, I’ll get the top put together soon.

 

I’ve got a few quilt-related goals for the new year:

1. try to quilt a little bit each day 

2. finish quilts I start

3. blog a little more, since this is a great way to keep track of start/finish dates

4. practice free motion quilting

 

I’m not sure what I’m going to work on after I finish Liberty Fields.  I’ve got a gift quilt in the works, so I’ll blog more about that after I gift it.  I’m tossing around the idea of working on the Civil War Diary Quilt but I’ll still need an easy, mindless quilt to piece.  I’m also interested in working on a hexagon quilt as a travel quilt.

Happy New Year!

 

 

