Well, these days, quilting time is rather limited.  In fact, I really haven’t quilted much in the past year, aside from piecing one quilt top of my own design.  Photos of that as soon as I locate it in one of the random boxes currently holding all of my quilting goodies.  It’s going to be such a relief to have all of my quilting things in one spot.  It’s also going to feel a little like Christmas when I finally get to unpack everything and find everything I’ve forgotten I’ve owned.  Moving twice, then remodeling a house tends to scatter ones belongings to the far corners of the world.  Or rather, to your parent’s basement.

But, I’m slowly getting back into the swing of things.  I finished a quilt-as-you-go baby quilt last week.  And I tried spray basting for the first time ever.  It worked great.  I really struggle with basting, but I might be a convert to the spray basting.  I want to try it on a larger quilt before I become a total convert.  I really like the re-usability of pins (and the fact that they don’t come in an aerosol can is a plus), but I can never seem to keep my layers from shifting no matter how much I pin it.  And I always get annoyed at having to stop/re-start free motion quilting just to take pins out.  So, I will try the spray basting on a larger quilt and see how it goes. 

I’ll also take some photos of the baby quilt and possibly explain how I did it.  I say possibly, because I’ll only have photos of the finished quilt so you might have to deal with some awesome Paint-drawn illustrations.  I’m not too great at actually remembering that I have a blog, let alone taking pictures of something IN PROGRESS to do a tutorial.  Although, it is a good idea.  Tutorials, that is.  Because I do love to read them on other people’s blogs. 

And, because no post is complete without a photo, here is one.  My newest work in progress.  Don’t worry, I won’t be changing my M.O. and taking any photos of it in progress.  But, I do have a test block cut out and hopefully, I can sew it up this evening while my apple butter cooks down on the stove.  Because I’m all domestic and multitask-y like that.

