I might be really into quilts with lots of seams these days.  Case in point:

 DSCN8529

First block of Swoon is completed.  Now, technically, this isn’t the first block I actually sewed, but it is the first that will go on the front of the quilt.  I sewed a test block, but alas, have no photo of that, so you’ll just have to trust me.  I’ll probably piece it into the back of the quilt, so perhaps one day it will make it onto the blog.  Each block, from start to finish, takes me quite awhile.  I usually like to sew in stages for quilts.  You know, sew step A for every block, then move onto step B, etc, etc.  But, this time, I decided I would work on one block at a time, then move onto the next.  I even have all the pieces for each block in their own little baggie, neatly stacked next to my sewing machine.  I’m not sure why I decided to assemble the blocks this way.  I think, though, it was a good call.  It’s keeping me from getting overwhelmed with this quilt.  I can complete whole steps for one block when I only have 15 minutes or so to sit down and feel really accomplished and productive.  Large blocks of quilting time are not to be found in my schedule right now, so feeling like I’m getting something done when I do get to sit down, is really important for my sanity.  And, I know there is all sorts of talk about creative process and taking your time and enjoying the process, and maybe one day I’ll write a post about that in more detail, but for right now, I just want to COMPLETE something.  And, I always have a huge list of things I can’t wait to work on, so as soon one quilt moves off my table, I get to be excited and jump into a new one.  Which, is one of my favorite parts of this hobby/obsession.

And the second example of quilts full of seams would be my leader ender project.

 DSCN8530

Which is this project – Technicolour Yawn aka Scrap Vomit quilt.  Which, I’m so cool, I totally missed the quilt-a-long and am just now getting around to sewing it.  If you aren’t familiar with the leader-ender technique- click here (and scroll down a bit).  It’s a fun system.  And makes me feel like I’m sooo productive. 

 

