The purse making bug bit me hard last week.  This is what resulted:

DSCN8708

DSCN8710

The Two Zip Hipster from Dog Under My Desk.  Pattern found here.

I must say, it took me most of yesterday afternoon to make this.  However, this pattern included a lot of firsts for me.  First time making a purse from a pattern, first time lining a purse, first time with zippers and first time working with different types of interfacing.  The pattern itself is awesome, though.  Lots of great pictures and very thorough directions (zippers no longer terrify me).  I did follow her advice and use a non-directional print.  I have some funky novelty fabrics (Gnomes smoking pipes, anyone??) that I’ll try next time I make this.

The only downfall of this bag is that it’s a little bit on the small side for my habit of carrying around everything but the kitchen sink. But, I like the bag well enough that maybe it’s time for me to change my habits.  I know my shoulder would appreciate it.

Also, the pattern does not call for tying your strap into an obnoxious knot, which is hard to see in the top photo.  I didn’t have the strap hardware, and I couldn’t find it locally, and I was too impatient to wait for it, so I made do with some D-rings and a knot.  I would suggest ordering the hardware needed for the pattern and I’ll do that next time.

I’m still suffering from the purse making bug.  I’m still on the hunt for fun and funky purse patterns, so if you know of any, please let me know!

 

