I don’t usually sew with anything but quilting cottons, but I noticed a sale on voiles awhile back from Connecting Threads and bought a fat quarter pack of the Matsuri line.  I really like the drape and feel of the voiles, but I found them to be finicky to cut and slippery to piece.  However, I think this quilt turned out pretty nice.

voilehexagon2

The white sashing around each hexagon is Kona Cotton and it really added stability to the bias edges of the hexagons.

voilehexagon3

I used a cotton batting and kept the quilting really simple.  I stitched in the ditch around each block.

voilehexagon4

The simple quilting, soft voiles, and cotton batting gives this quilt a beautiful drape.  It’s backed in an off-white solid.

voilehexagon5

I love the variety of colors in this line and the prints are just gorgeous.  It was really fun to pair the center hexagons with the background fabrics and I tried my hardest to have no repeats of combinations.

Overall, this quilt came together quickly and was fun to piece (minus the headaches of sewing with slippery fabrics).  It finished at 54″ x 58″ and is the perfect lap size!

This quilt is currently available in my shop.

