rainbow2

This quilt was a fun adventure in free piecing or wonky piecing or whatever you would like to call it.  I cut a bunch of strips (about 6″ x 20″) from some fat quarter packs of solids I had.  Then, randomly and without using a ruler, cut those strips into wedge shaped pieces.  Cutting them was a lot of fun and in fact, I have a ton left over.  I’m not sure what I’ll with them next…maybe a dresden plate – like something.

rainbow3

I pieced the wedges into “strips” going in different directions.  Some of the strips had tight curves, others had looser curves.

rainbow4

I then laid them out on this piece of chicken wire Moda fabric and arranged them into a pleasing design.  I sewed a 1/4″ from the edge of all of my strips and ironed that under, then appliqued them down.  I used lots and lots of starch.  I still ended up with a few wrinkles and puckers, but nothing I can’t live with.

The boyfriend suggested the mustard yellow binding, and even though it’s not what I would have chosen, I think it fits this quilt very well.

This was a really fun quilt to work on.  The freedom in piecing the strips was a lot of fun.  I didn’t plan anything and it was neat to see what happened when I didn’t worry about a thing.

It was a pretty fast quilt as well.  It finished at 44″ x 55″ and I quilted it in a meander pattern.  I think that if I make another one or a similar one, I’ll do some sort of echo quilting.

This quilt is available in my shop.

