LottaImprov (2)

I finished up this quilt in the spring!  It was my first go at improv piecing.  I had mixed feelings while working on this.  I felt that I stretched my brain in a good way by working without a pattern and trying to make each block different, but I also did a lot of seam ripping and rearranging because I wasn’t really thrilled with some of the blocks and my layouts.

LottaImprov (5)

The only parameters I gave myself was that each block needed to finish at a certain size, and I wanted to use up a fat quarter pack I had picked up.  The fat quarter pack featured lots of Lotta Jansdotter prints as well as some different Moda prints.

LottaImprov (6)

I backed the quilt in a heavy flannel and didn’t use any batting.  I must say, that I really like the drape and feel of quilts with flannel backings and no batting.  While not great for winter use, they make great spring and fall quilts.

I quilted each block differently.  That was really fun!  I got to try out different free motion quilting patterns and I tried to pick each quilting pattern to complement the block.

LottaImprov (4)

I left the sashing unquilted except for stitching in the ditch around the outside of each block.  I sashed each block with a gray solid I had in my stash, and I must say that that was a good decision.  It helps each block stand on it’s own.

